Bad glass gropp richard e. Bad Glass 2019-02-07

Bad glass gropp richard e Rating: 8,6/10 1981 reviews

Bad Glass : Richard E. Gropp : 9780345533937

bad glass gropp richard e

He falls in love with the first girl he meets, Taylor Gupta, for no apparent reason because she is also annoying. Originally appeared on my blog, The Arkham Digest The first impression of Bad Glass when I first saw the cover was that it was probably another paranormal series with perhaps creatures that resembled zombies and the main character, Dean Walker with his new friends Taylor, Mac, Amanda, Charlie, Devon, Floyd and Danny will miraculously survive this catastrophic event and get their happy ending. Would you seek death to escape from the craziness? When it comes to Bad Glass, I have conflicting feelings. Was this the result of a biological experiment gone wrong, was it a failed military project, a terror attack, a mass hallucination, a rip in space-time, an alternate dimension showing through? Hooking up with a group of outcasts led by a beautiful young woman named Taylor, Dean embarks on a journey into the heart of a mystery whose philosophical implications are as terrifying as its physical manifestations. The area has been mostly evacuated and the military isn't letting anyone in. Even as he falls in love with Taylor--a woman as damaged and seductive as the city itself--his already tenuous hold on reality starts to come loose. With the guidance of this friendly soldier, Dean manages to get access into the city, which is where things start to go wrong.

Next

Bad Glass by Richard E. Gropp (book review). : SFcrowsnest

bad glass gropp richard e

The military has evacuated the city and locked it down. Yet, despite the strange happenings a number of civilians choose to remain inside the city. What he finds will change him in unimaginable ways. Even as he falls in love with Taylor—a woman as damaged and seductive as the city itself—his already tenuous hold on reality starts to come loose. I admit I read this book because it has a cool premise, a cool cover, and a blurb from Caitlin Kiernan, one of my favorite writers. Even as he falls in love with Taylor—a woman as damaged and seductive as the city itself—his already tenuous hold on reality starts to come loose.

Next

Bad Glass by Richard E. Gropp · OverDrive (Rakuten OverDrive): eBooks, audiobooks and videos for libraries

bad glass gropp richard e

People and things that don't belong are suddenly appearing, and strange noises come from nowhere. I don't know, maybe it just needed a few more drafts. Even as he falls in love with Taylor - a woman as damaged and seductive as the city itself - his already tenuous hold on reality starts to come loose. One of the most hauntingly original dark fantasy debuts in years--perfect for fans of Lost and Mark Danielewski's cult classic, House of Leaves. On the other hand, it also makes us wonder, what exactly is right or wrong in our world? More specifically, the city of Spokane has gone bad - disappearances and violent, bizarre acts in the city garner attention in the public eye, and the military has stepped in, walling off Spokane from the rest of the world under constant guard.

Next

Bad Glass by Richard E. Gropp at Galaxy Bookshop

bad glass gropp richard e

Originally reviewed on The Book Smugglers Something's rotten in the state of Washington. Trying for fame and fortune, a photographer sneaks into the zone hoping to get pictures and evidence of what is happening. Harry +Potter Search results will contain 'Potter'. Or perhaps it is Spokane's grip on the world that is coming undone. Something has happened in Spokane.

Next

Bad Glass by Richard E. Gropp

bad glass gropp richard e

Cashing in his father's tuition check, armed with his camera, laptop, and a shit ton of batteries, Dean sneaks his way into Spokane. Something has happened in Spokane. I do think this is an exceptional debut book and one to be recommended. Even so, disturbing rumors and images seep out, finding their way onto the Internet, spreading curiosity, skepticism, and panic. There is no subtlety in his approach to each horrifying encounter, and the over descriptiveness can be a bit of a dread killer for me.

Next

Bad Glass by Richard E. Gropp · OverDrive (Rakuten OverDrive): eBooks, audiobooks and videos for libraries

bad glass gropp richard e

Searches cannot start with a wildcard. Even so, disturbing rumors and images seep out, finding their way onto the Internet, spreading curiosity, skepticism, and panic. From the Trade Paperback edition. The military has evacuated the city and locked it down. Even as he falls in love with Taylor--a woman as damaged and seductive as the city itself--his already tenuous hold on reality starts to come loose.

Next

Bad Glass by Richard E. Gropp (book review). : SFcrowsnest

bad glass gropp richard e

Or perhaps it is Spokane's grip on the world that is coming undone. It weirdness just is and the reader has to accept that as nobody is going to explain it. Ending the book in such a manner will be the cause of much frustration by readers. Hooking up with a group of outcasts led by a beautiful young woman named Taylor, Dean embarks on a journey into the heart of a mystery whose philosophical implications are as terrifying as its physical manifestations. Gropp did not have the same storyline which I thought it would. Those collaborating brothers came up with something very special.

Next

Bad Glass by Richard E. Gropp.

bad glass gropp richard e

For what they show is--or should be--impossible: strange creatures that cannot exist, sudden disappearances that violate the laws of physics, human bodies fused with inanimate objects, trapped yet still half alive. What he finds will change him in unimaginable ways. Even with the military quarantine, news still trickles out from Spokane - rumors of unimaginable, supernatural horror are backed up by nightmarish images that cannot possibly be real. It is intense, frightening and totally weird. Who made these things up? These descriptions add to the haunting and uneasy feeling that something is not quite right.

Next